SteamGazette
1 Steam Cars :  Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
General Steam Car topics 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Packing of Stanley threaded boiler fitting and introduction...
Posted by: Mikkel Posselt (IP Logged)
Date: February 27, 2015 06:32PM

Hello All
This is my first posting here on the Phorum. I has just now been able to sign on with the kind assistance from Alex Beam!

A few lines about me: I am a mechanic engineer, and has all my life worked in my spare time with steam in the form of locomotives and steam rollers. Beside that, I have a few old cars like Ford 1914 and Buick Marquette. In 2005, me and my good friend Per Nielsen got involved with the Danish Technical Museums Conrad 1902 steam car which we gave a refurbishment, and since then kept running and demonstrates from time to time.
Two years ago, I got the chance to aquire a (long desired) Stanley 735A. It was running but shortly after I decided (after a mishap with low water) to fit a new boiler. That`s where I am now, working on the installation of a new Don Bourdon 18" boiler and all what this involves regarding pipework, overhaul of all automatics, steering box, condenser and fitting of an oil separator..
I have already had much help by seaching the phorum, and I hope somebody will help from time to time with specific questions....
Right now I will like to hear what you are using for sealing the tapered NPT threads on the various steel fitting srewed into the boiler? - are you using only liquid sealer - and which ones - or also hemp or something like that?

With the best regards
Mikkel Posselt, 735A 1919
Denmark

Re: Packing of Stanley threaded boiler fitting and introduction...
Posted by: SSsssteamer (IP Logged)
Date: February 27, 2015 07:14PM