SteamGazette
1 Steam Cars :  Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
General Steam Car topics 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Piston Rod Taper
Posted by: Peter Heid (IP Logged)
Date: June 16, 2004 07:35PM

<HTML>I was wondering if anyone had any idea how much temperature differential one could expect on a piston rod ?

Are piston rods normally machined with a taper to accomadate for unequal expansion ?

My engine is small and the clearance is only 0.001 to 0.0015 inches and to help with the sealing and alignment.

Peter Heid</HTML>

Re: Piston Rod Taper
Posted by: Dick Vennerbeck (IP Logged)
Date: June 17, 2004 02:42AM

<HTML>Peter,
I'm no expert but I think that you should not need to consider piston rod expansion if you are using normal packing materials or even some of the new hi tech carbon fiber ones. I assume that your engine piston rods are less than 5/8" in diameter. Choosing the right packing material for the metal that your rods are made of is much more important. Stainless steel and teflon do not get along well together however Monel and Teflon seem to work just fine. There are lots more options including a water ring labrynth that will also work. What are your steam temperatures and what do you think the casting seal area temperatures might reach ate the rod gland?

Dick</HTML>

Re: Piston Rod Taper
Posted by: SSsssteamer (IP Logged)
Date: June 17, 2004 02:46AM

<HTML>When I have had our piston rods hard chromed, their surfaces are ground perfectly parallel the full length. I have done 10, 20 and 30 hp Stanley engines. While in use, the piston rod becomes hot the full lenght and there won't be enough of a temperature difference in the full length of it to worry about an uneven size. Keep the proper clearance on your cross head guides, and your piston rod packing will last longer.</HTML>

Re: Piston Rod Taper//brittle?
Posted by: Ben in Maine (IP Logged)
Date: June 17, 2004 10:53AM