SteamGazette
1 Steam Cars :  Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
General Steam Car topics 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
building a steam motorcycle
Posted by: Tom Masciari (IP Logged)
Date: May 08, 2005 08:08PM

<HTML>Hi all,
I am seriously considering building a motorcycle powered by steam. The rolling chassis is still under the shopping around stage. Hopefully, the car and truck will come later on.

Would like to pick fellow member's brains on some needed advice.
Basically this is a project that I would like see come to reality using knowledge and advice from others that have way more steam experience than I. So all advice is very much welcomed and appreciated.

I am a novice at steaming. Have steadily built up a collection of books and literature on the subject for the past 2 years. Looking foward to meeting and talking with others. Currently a member of SACA.

The powerplant is the main issue at the moment - I do not have one.
Finding an old engine is scarce enough - may have to resort to building one from plans. Anyone know of any obscure sources (I am familiar with eBay, Lindsay publications, abebooks.com) for such information?

I would imagine twenty horsepower would be sufficient for a 1000 - 1200lb (on the extreme heavy end) motorcycle (with rider, boiler, etc.). Or should I do better than twenty horses?

The package would have to be compressed in a 18" x 18" x 18" area ( this is an approx. guesstimate - will have to fabricate engine and boiler around the chosen chassis, not vice-versa.

On another note, I have quite a few doubles (and triples) of Light Steam Power magazines that I am looking to trade for same, in order to complete my collection.

Thanks in advance to all that respond,
Tom</HTML>

Re: building a steam motorcycle
Posted by: Jeff Theobald (IP Logged)
Date: May 08, 2005 08:35PM

<HTML>Hi Tom,