SteamGazette
1 Steam Cars :  Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
General Steam Car topics 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
lubricating oil saponification
Posted by: John Mahler (IP Logged)
Date: April 03, 2002 04:01PM

<HTML>I have been wondering about saponification of lubrication oil in steam systems for a long while. I used to use lard oil and trisodium phosphate to make coolant for machine tools. It also worked well for automotive cooling systems, keeping the water pump lubricated. It mixed well with glycol coolants.
I was thinking that, unless the phosphate had some harmful effect on the whole steam system, this might be a good way to get oil to remain in suspension in feed water and perhaps survive the cycle throught the engine, to reunite with the oil in the feed water tank again. This is admittedly an uninformed question. I have no knowledge of what might or will happen to such a chemical soup in a steam engine.
John Mahler</HTML>

Re: lubricating oil saponification
Posted by: Peter Brow (IP Logged)
Date: April 05, 2002 07:25AM

<HTML>Hi John,

Lard oil, if I'm not mistaken, is an animal oil, and will break down leaving acidic & corrosive residues in a steam system. The 1909 White owner's manual originally recommended "D Mobiloil", which I think was compounded with tallow. This is overstamped with a warning: "All Oils Containing Acids Must Be Avoided", then recommends what I believe are straight mineral oils. As I recall, somebody on the Lightsteam List brought this up way back when. However, I have also read that tallow-compounded oils are still used in some steam systems, but I believe only with saturated steam.

Peter</HTML>

Posted by: David K. Nergaard (IP Logged)
Date: April 05, 2002 12:07PM