SteamGazette
1 Steam Cars :  Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
General Steam Car topics 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Cruban Steam Chassis
Posted by: Mike Wahl (IP Logged)
Date: October 08, 2008 08:48PM

Hi folks I am new to the Discussion and want to share my most recent find. It is what we all dream of in a barn find. It is a large steam chassis with a truck cab. There are no manufactures markings on the sheet metal; however the engine and rear end have Cruban cast in them. It looks to be the size of a bus chassis, but currently has a truck cab on it. We are working on the history.

The history I know so far is that the pervious owners Dad purchased it, in the late forties or early fifties. It sat behind their auto dealership until 1972 when it was move to the storage in the barn we removed it from last weekend.

The truck/chassis was disassembled before the pervious owner purchased it. There were parts in the upper and lower part of the barn. We found many of the parts, however several pieces are in very bad shape, but at least there is something for a pattern. The barn was in very bad shape also and we need to brace it up before we could even remove the truck.

The engine and boiler were moved home last weekend and I am headed up this weekend to pick up the truck. I will add more details in future posts on the details of the boiler, condenser and engine.

I am hoping that someone out there has some info that can shed some light on this.

Attachments: 101_4290.JPG (150KB)   101_4295.JPG (176.2KB)  
Re: Cruban Steam Chassis
Posted by: SSsssteamer (IP Logged)
Date: October 09, 2008 05:09AM