SteamGazette
1 Steam Cars :  Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
General Steam Car topics 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Rebuilding Stanley rear axle information
Posted by: SSsssteamer (IP Logged)
Date: June 23, 2012 06:09AM

I am to the point of having too much clearance on the spider gear hub to axle fit on our 1916 Stanley Mt. Wagon. At higher speeds with a neutral throttle, it can clatter pretty bad. I had seen an article recently about the steps taken on remachining the spider hub fit to the axle shafts. Can anyone please tell me where I had read this? Auburn Heights Heralds? The Steam Automobile Bulletin, The Steam Car, or where? I am a machinist so I can do it without the article, but I am sure that there were tips in the article that would help. Thank you.

Re: Rebuilding Stanley rear axle information
Date: June 28, 2012 02:11AM