SteamGazette
1 Steam Cars :  Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
General Steam Car topics 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
crank case oil
Posted by: Per Nielsen (IP Logged)
Date: September 23, 2003 06:38PM

<HTML>The oil should splash in the crank case acording to Stanley instructions. Wich oil should be used here?
Are any of you adding lard to the oil?
Per</HTML>

Re: crank case oil
Posted by: David K. Nergaard (IP Logged)
Date: September 24, 2003 10:16AM

<HTML>The Stanley company recommended Mobileoil "C", which was a straight mineral gear oil, SAE viscosity 160. There are still a few SAE 140 straight mineral gear oils available. I have been using such for more than thirty years in my Stanley. Be careful to avoid any oil with "EP" or hypoid gear additives, they can attack nonferrous parts!</HTML>

Re: crank case oil, viscosity grades
Posted by: David K. Nergaard (IP Logged)
Date: September 24, 2003 10:49AM

<HTML>ISO 460 is the equivalent of SAE 140. I think ISO 680 would be very like the old SAE 160.</HTML>

Posted by: William L. Petitjean, P.E. (IP Logged)
Date: November 03, 2003 04:17AM

<HTML>Hi Per:

David is correct in that you want only a straight mineral gear oil lubricant. You do not want to add any animal or vegetable fats as these will emulsify and make a big mess. They will also gum up over time and coat the parts in your crankcase.

According to my data SAE140 gear oil viscosity covers a wide range of ISO VG ratings from midway between ISO320 and ISO460 to just over ISO680.

I make a Pin, Bearing & Journal Oil called PB&J460 Formula 2 that is a true ISO460 plain bearing oil that only has a Polybutene tackifier added to pure Pennsylvania Bright Stock. This is the best of gear oil base stocks and I am confident it would satisfy the old Stanley recommendations.